

MINUTES APPOINTMENT REVIEW COMMITTEE JANUARY 10, 2011, 4:30 P.M. CITY MANAGER'S CONFERENCE ROOM CITY HALL 100 STATE STREET BELOIT, WI 53511

Carolyn Hansen called the regular meeting of the Appointment Review Committee to order at 4:30 p.m.

1. Roll Call:

Committee Members Present: Carolyn Hansen, Louise Reidenbach, Duane Aimers, Jane Threinen,

Doris Forbes, Henry Clement, Jim Van De Bogart, and Kevin Leavy

(via telephone conference)

Staff: Pamela Lathrop

2. Minutes:

Minutes of the November 8, 2010 meeting were approved on a motion by Jane Threinen, second by Louise Reidenbach. Discussion ensued. Ms. Forbes asked that the minutes be amended regarding her motion to recommend the appointment of Jason Dowd to the Traffic Review Committee, replacing Emil Benz. She asked that the minutes reflect that Mr. Benz had completed his term, and was not removed from Traffic Review. After an explanation from other members of the Appointment Review Committee, the minutes were deemed acceptable as written. Motion carried.

3. Election of Officers:

- Jane Threinen nominated Henry Clement as Chair. Louise Reidenbach seconded the nomination and the motion carried.
- **b.** Doris Forbes nominated Louise Reidenbach as Vice-Chair. Henry Clement seconded and the motion carried.
- c. Pamela Lathrop will continue as Secretary for the committee.

4. Review of applicants for the following vacancies with recommendations to City Council:

Appointment Review Committee

Louise Reidenbach moved to recommend the reappointment of **Doris Forbes** for a term ending December 31, 2013. Jane Threinen seconded and the motion carried.

David Russell's term expired December 31, 2010. He has moved out of the City of Beloit; therefore is not eligible for reappointment.

Carolyn Hansen's term expired December 31, 2010. She has agreed to serve on the Appointment Review Committee until a replacement is found.

No applications are on file.

Board of Ethics

Municipal Code states that one of the seats on the Board of Ethics be held by a former City Councilor. Herb Christiansen resigned and the seat remains vacant. Jim Van De Bogart has approached former Councilors but no one has expressed interest in applying.

Henry Clement moved to recommend the reappointment of **Milton L. Brown, Jr.** for a term ending December 31, 2013. Jane Threinen seconded and the motion carried.

A vacancy was created when **Terri Burdick** moved out of the City of Beloit. The Appointment Review Committee members reviewed the application of **James Roe**, who listed Board of Ethics as his third choice. Henry Clement moved to table consideration of that application until reviewing applications for the Board of Review. Doris Forbes seconded and the motion carried.

No other applications are on file for the Board of Ethics.

Board of Review

A vacancy was created when Erwin F. Zuehlke's term expired on December 31, 2010. He declined reappointment. Henry Clement moved to recommend the appointment of **James Roe**, 1022 Eleventh St. (replacing Erwin F. Zuehlke) to a term ending December 31, 2015. Louise Reidenbach seconded and the motion carried.

Business Improvement District (Downtown Beloit Association)

At the recommendation of the Business Improvement District/DBA Board, Jane Threinen moved to recommend the following appointment to the City Council:

Brad Austin (Non-Owner Occupant, replacing Christine Charbonneau) for a term expiring December 31, 2012.

Louise Reidenbach seconded and the motion carried.

At the recommendation of the Business Improvement District/DBA Board, Jane Threinen moved to recommend the following appointment to the City Council:

Christine Schlichting (Property Owner, replacing Brad Austin), Neighborhood Housing Services of Beloit, Inc., 520 W. Grand Ave., to a term expiring December 31, 2011.

Doris Forbes seconded and the motion carried.

At the recommendation of the Business Improvement District/DBA Board, Louise Reidenbach moved to recommend the following appointment to the City Council:

Incumbent **Peter Gabriele** (Owner Occupant) for a term expiring December 31, 2013 Incumbent **Elaine Ribarich** (Owner Occupant) for a term expiring December 31, 2013 Incumbent **Mathew Reynolds** (Owner Occupant) for a term expiring December 31, 2013

Henry Clement seconded and the motion carried.

Community Development Authority

A vacancy was created with the expiration of Effie L. Garrett's term on December 31, 2010. She served since March, 2006 and was not eligible for reappointment. Two applications were on file and discussion ensued.

Louise Reidenbach moved to recommend the appointment of **Cecilia R. Blackwell**, 1143 Lincoln Ave. (replacing Effie L. Garrett) to a term expiring December 31, 2014. Duane Aimers seconded and the motion carried.

<u>Disabled Parking Enforcement Assistance Council</u> No applicants.

Municipal Golf Committee

A vacancy was created with the resignation of Gary L. Gard. Duane Aimers moved to recommend the appointment of **William F. Howard**, 2535 Bootmaker Drive (replacing Gary L. Gard) to a term expiring December 31, 2012. Doris Forbes seconded and the motion carried.

Henry Clement moved to recommend the reappointment of **Harry Wiersgalla** for a term ending December 31, 2013. Jane Threinen seconded and the motion carried.

Municipal Library Board

A vacancy for a School District Representative was created with the resignation of Jessica Everson.

Henry Clement moved to accept the recommendation of the School District of Beloit, appointing **Cindy Weber** (Gaston Elementary School) to represent the Board of Education on the Library Board for the 2010-2011 school year. Jane Threinen seconded and the motion carried.

Traffic Review Committee

No applications on file.

5. Member Participation

None

6. Citizen Participation

None

7. Adjournment

Henry Clement moved to adjourn the meeting at 5:00 carried.	p.m. Doris Forbes seconded and the motion
Henry Clement, Chairperson	Date
Louise Reidenbach, Vice-Chairperson	Date

Minutes are not official until approved by Appointment Review Committee.