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New Child Passenger Safety—Booster Seat Law 
 

Implementation of the new booster seat law 
(Wisconsin Act 106): 

          
§ The Child Booster Seat Law goes into effect on June 1, 2006. 
§ To provide education about the new law, written warnings will be issued instead of citations 

for first violations during a grace period from June 1 until December 31, 2006. 
o Warnings issued during the grace period must be sent to the WisDOT. 
o Second and subsequent violations of the law before January 1, 2007, (during the 

grace period) are grounds for a citation.  
§ On January 1, 2007, law enforcement officers will begin issuing citations for violations  
 

How to comply with the law (diagram on reverse side): 
 
Generally, children must be properly restrained in a child safety seat until they reach age 4 
(previous requirement), and in a booster seat until age 8 (new requirement). The new law 
includes the following four-step progression for effective child safety protection in vehicles.  
 

1. Rear-facing child safety seat in the back seat* is required when the child:  
o Is less than 1-year-old or  
o Weighs less than 20 pounds. 

2. Forward-facing child safety seat in the back seat* is required when the child: 
o Is at least 1-year-old but less than 4-years-old 
o Weighs at least 20 pounds but less than 40 pounds. 

3. Booster seat is required when the child: 
o Is at least 4-years-old but less than 8-years-old 
o Weighs at least 40 pounds but less than 80 pounds 
o Is not 57-inches (4-feet, 9-inches) or taller. 

4. Safety belt is required when the child: 
o Is 8-years-old or older or 
o Weighs 80 or more pounds or 
o Is 57-inches or taller 

*Child safety seat must be in the back seat if 
the vehicle is equipped with a back seat 

Exemptions: 
 
§ Children whose body-size, physical condition or medical condition makes safety restraints 

unreasonable are still exempt from the booster seat and safety belt laws.  
§ There no longer is a “personal needs” exemption allowing the child to be removed from a 

safety restraint to attend to the child’s personal needs, such as feeding or diapering, while the 
vehicle is moving. 

 
Changes to mandatory safety belt law: 
 
§ Under the new law, drivers may be cited for allowing passengers of any age to be unbelted 

in their vehicle (The new law removes a previous provision in the mandatory safety belt law 
that did not make the driver responsible for unbelted passengers age 16 or older) 

 
For more information or answers to questions: Contact the Wisconsin Information Network 
for Safety at its toll-free number 1-866-511-9467 or Web site www.BoosterSeat.gov 
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Is the child less than 1 
year old? Yes 

No 

Is the child less than 20 
pounds? Yes 

No 

Is the child at least 1 year 
old but less than 4? 

No 

Yes 

Is the child at least 20 
pounds but LESS than 40 

pounds? 

Yes 

No 

Is the child at least 4 years 
old but less than 8? 

No 

Yes 

Yes 

Is the child LESS 
than 80 pounds? 

Child must be in rear- facing 
child seat, located in back seat 
if a back seat is present.   
 
Violation:  347.48(4) (as)1 
 

No child seat or 
booster seat 

required, but safety 
belt is required. 

Child must be in a forward-
facing booster seat.  Seat is 
not required to be placed in 
back seat. 
 
Violation:  347.48(4) (as) 3 
 Yes 

Child must be in forward-facing 
child seat, located in back seat 
if back seat is present.   
 
Violation:  347.48(4)(as)2 
 

Is the child LESS 
than 4’ 9”? 


