#### **MINUTES**

## Joint Policy and Technical Advisory Committee Meetings Stateline Area Transportation Study Monday March 29, 2021 at 10:00 A.M via GoToMeeting

A joint meeting of the Stateline Area Transportation Study Technical Advisory Committee and Policy Board was held on Monday March 29, 2021 via GoToMeeting. Nee called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

#### 1. Call to Order and Roll Call

Policy Board Members Present (7): Rehl, Adams, Rath, Hecox, Hodina, Flottmeyer, Bates

Policy Board Members Absent (3):Forbeck, Anclam, Sweeney

Technical Advisory Committee Members Present (12): Williamson, Prindiville, Pennington, Boggs, Diduch, McKearn, Downing, Hecox, Baker, Hodina, Koprowski, Bates

Technical Advisory Committee Members Absent (3): Bomkamp, Jorgenson, Winnebago County Planning

Non-voting Members / Others present: Bradley Sippel, Doug DeLille, Mitch Batuzich, Sydney Turner, James Thompson, Jim Kuehn, Jeff Johnson, Rick Barder, Jason Dupuis, Jim Meyer, T.J. Nee

### 2. Public Participation

Rick Barder asked if any projects would be delayed. Adams noted Old River Road ITEP grant not currently approved and project may be delayed.

# 3. Approval of the Minutes of the January 11, 2021 Joint Policy Board and Technical Advisory Committee Meetings

A motion was made by Adams, second by Rehl, to approve the minutes of the January 11, 2021 meeting. Motion carried.

#### 4. Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Administrative Modification(s)

Dupuis noted two TIP Administrative Modifications to TIP number IL-20-010, Bridge replacement/Engineering, IL 75 over the Rock River in Rockton:

- Project moved to Advanced Construction status in order to be eligible for federal reimbursement at a later date.
- Previously programmed 2020 PE (design) funding moved to 2021 totaling \$1,250,000 (\$1,000,000 Federal and \$250,000 State).

- 5. Resolution 2021-3, Approval of an Amendment to the 2021-2024 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to add the following:
  - State of Wisconsin Curb ramp replacement east of Rock River along portions of USH-51 and WIS-81 to meet ADA
  - b. State of Wisconsin Curb ramp replacement west of Rock River along portions of WIS-81 to meet ADA
  - c. Rock County 5310 funding for mobility management
  - d. RSVP of Rock County, Inc. 5310 funding for operating assistance
  - e. Forward Service Corporation 5311 funding for mobility management and vehicle loans
  - f. Forward Service Corporation 5311 funding for operating

Dupuis reported on the proposed amendment to the 2021-2024 TIP noted above.

A motion was made by Hodina, second by Hecox for the Technical Advisory Committee to recommend approval of Resolution 2021-3 to the Policy Board.

Williamson - Aye Prindiville - Aye Pennington - Aye Boggs - Aye Diduch - Aye McKearn - Aye Downing - Aye Hecox - Aye Baker - Aye Hodina - Aye Koprowski - Aye

Bates - Aye

Motion carried by roll call vote.

A motion was made by Hodina, second by Bates for the Policy Board to accept the recommendation of the Technical Advisory Committee and to approve Resolution 2021-3, Approval of an Amendment to the 2021-2024 TIP.

Rehl - Aye Adams – Aye Rath – Aye Hecox - Aye Hodina – Aye Flottmeyer – Aye Bates- Aye

Motion carried by roll call vote.

6. Resolution 2021-4, Adoption of Public Transit Agency Safety Plan (PTASP) Performance Measure Targets (SMTD)

Dupuis reported that as a recipient of 5307 transit funds, SMTD is required to adopt a Public Transit Agency Safety Plan (PTASP) and Safety Targets. RMTD's PTASP satisfies the PTASP requirement for SMTD and includes FY21 Safety Targets for SMTD. SMTD adopted the RMTD PTASP and targets fall of 2020. SLATS must also adopt the targets within 180 days of receipt from the transit agency.

A motion was made by McKearn, second by Hecox for the Technical Advisory Committee to recommend approval of Resolution 2021-3 to the Policy Board.

Williamson - Aye Prindiville - Aye Pennington - Aye Boggs - Aye Diduch - Aye McKearn - Aye Downing - Aye Hecox - Aye Baker - Aye Hodina - Aye Koprowski - Aye Bates - Aye

Motion carried by roll call vote.

A motion was made by Adams, second by Hecox for the Policy Board to accept the recommendation of the Technical Advisory Committee and to approve Resolution 2021-4, Adoption of Public Transit Agency Safety Plan (PTASP) Performance Measure Targets (SMTD).

Rehl - Aye Adams – Aye Rath – Aye Hecox - Aye Hodina – Aye Flottmeyer – Aye Bates- Aye

Motion carried by roll call vote.

## 7. SLATS Long Range Transportation Plan. Planned topics include:

- a. Confirm Goals and Objectives
- b. Review Needs Analysis (overview of existing conditions and future year conditions/needs) and survey results to date
- c. Discussion of Potential Projects/Introduction of Project Scoring

Jim Meyer with AECOM provided an update on the LRTP. Goals and objectives including additions related to the FAST Act and the addition of an Equity Goal were confirmed with the TAC and Board. Survey and online mapping results to date were shared. Congestion/freight issues were explored. Rick Barder noted truck traffic on STH 81. Adams inquired about impacts of 2020 Census urban area updates. Jim Meyer noted lack of significant congestion

may allow for some streets to be reconfigured, and that scenarios would be modelled. Rick Barder concurred. Regional transit connectivity was discussed. Downing noted issues include lack of interconnectivity between cities, funding issues and potential for rail between cities. Hecox noted State and local restrictions on transit funding hinder interconnectivity. Biking issues were discussed. Rick Barder noted east-west connectivity issues (Stateline Road and Elmwood as examples). Williamson highlighted the Milwaukee Road bike path project as a priority project. Jim Meyer introduced a project selection and scoring criteria concept.

#### 8. Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) Agency Reports

Adams – ITEP Grant for Old River Old Path may still be awarded. Announcement anticipated in April.

Sharon – SMTD received \$225,000 for 3 new buses approved through REBUILD Illinois Grant. Mobile ticketing option implemented.

Koprowski – Noted this is last year for I-39/90 reconstruction project including the I-43 interchange and extension of and improvements to STH 81

Diduch – Extended well wishes to Dale on his upcoming retirement as Rockton Mayor noting he enjoyed his time on SLATS.

#### 9. Scheduling of Future Meetings of the Policy Board and Technical Committees

Nee noted the next meeting would likely be June or late May 2021.

#### 10. Adjournment

Hecox moved to adjourn, second by Prindiville. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 11:09 a.m.

- T.J. Nee, MPO Coordinator – SLATS